She gave me my kid back… I was glad to return the favor

Earlier today, I heard someone’s horn honking in the front yard. Most of us would not think twice about it, but we aren’t most people. Because our kids have autism, and have left the house so many times on their own, we jump when someone honks near our house. I went outside and found cars backed up and down the street. They were desperately trying to corral a small friend who had left their house with out a grown up.

IMG_0341

 

She was adorable. She came right to me. I was super worried that someone had hit her with a car she was a little wobbly. We didn’t put her on Facebook or list her as found because she was a fancy dog. Pugs like her, would have had everyone and their mother coming to tell me she “belonged” to them. We were just going to watch the message boards and take her to our vet to see if she was chipped.

 

I admit, I spent the whole day snuggled up with her and was becoming attached. We leave the windows open a lot. Around 7:30, I saw a car driving slowly down our street. Their windows were down.  They even had their flashers on. I could have ignored it. Kept the awesome puppy, but I knew I could not do that.My conscious would have worn me down.  I went outside, sat down and waited.  Eventually that car came back up our street. I stopped her and asked her what was wrong. She said she was looking for her pug puppy. I took her inside and Leah helped reunite them.  I was sad, but grateful I did the right thing. The lady was super sweet and the puppy, Gracie, was so glad to see her owner. After she left, Leah looked me in the eyes and said you did the right thing. Yeah, I know. She said, “Do you know who that lady is?” Umm not really.

Seven years ago, that nice lady heard her dogs barking around two am.  When she went to check on them, she saw my Addison, six years old, at the time running down the street. She knew about Addy but wasn’t sure where she lived. She knew she needed to call the police. Because of this nice lady, the firemen, paramedics, and police were able to get Addison back to us. I was super happy to return the favor today.  It’s amazing how everything happens for a reason.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

